Privacy and Security

Our users' security and privacy on Byrd is our top priority. For more info, click on the subjects below.

Why does Byrd want to know my location even when I'm not using the app? And does it drain my battery?

Byrd uses your location to deliver you assignments and to verify your photos and videos. Your location data is only shared anonymously with our trusted partners to give you the best possible experience with Byrd. You can always remove location access through the settings on your iPhone. If you decide to do this, Byrd will not work as intended to, which might result in a less optimal user experience. And by the way, battery draining is not a real thing, and our app is very efficient.

How do I unsubscribe from mailing lists?

In the bottom of every email, you can choose to subscribe to the new emails or unsubscribe from the existing ones.

How can I get a photo or video deleted from Byrd?

You can always delete your content from Byrd. It is done through the app:

  • Go to your profile page in the app.
  • Select the picture or video you want to delete.
  • Choose the Story Action function in the upper right corner and click "Delete story".

How does Byrd handle privacy complaints?

You are entitled to file a complaint with a supervisory authority at any time. The Danish supervisory authority is the Data Protection Agency (in Danish "Datatilsynet") located on Borgergade 28, 5, 1300 Copenhagen, Denmark.

How are my photos and videos protected?

We automatically apply a watermark to all photos and videos on Byrd, and the full-size version of your content requires special access.

How is my personal information protected?

Byrd is using technical and organizational measures to ensure appropriate protection of your personal data. Byrd's technical and organizational measures are updated on a regular basis.